Blossom Life With Dr. Rhea

Ignite, Serve, Grow, Thrive. Repeat.

Embodying the “I Am”

Leave a comment

Getting “On The Beam” In Life For Health, Ease & Peace (Embodying the “I Am”)

by Dr. Rhea Zimmerman

What would it be like to live in a feeling of total ease with life?  To know that you are making the right decisions and actions?  What does it TRULY mean to live “on the beam” as Dr. Fleet calls it?  These are questions that led me to discover and then become a Concept Therapy teacher and Zone Healing Chiropractor.  For me it began after my second major injury while living in New York City pursuing my professional modern dance career (or as So You Think You Can Dance has coined it “contemporary”).  Life directs all of us to the answers even to our most seemingly unearthed questions.  The following is a small summary of the jewel that I discovered and that I now share (and continually receive and learn from).

Dr. Fleet (the founder of Concept Therapy and Zone Healing) came up with the term “on the beam” to describe the way of being when one is coming from a place of oneness with all of life and therefore demonstrating the most harmonious attributes of a human expression.  The general terms that he states for “on the beam” actions are faith, hope, generosity, aspiration, patience, sympathy, noninterference, kindness, courage, forgiveness, duty and love.  These are defined by him in his book “The Rays of the Dawn.”

He coined “on the beam” as a spiritual term through his experience as a fighter pilot.  In this sense the analogy is mirroring an airplane when it is on the radio beam that keeps the airplane on course.  On the beam then could also be thought of as “on course.”

Given my life experience I like to imagine or add another analogy to the “on the beam” vision of Dr. Fleet.  I like thinking that there is some kind of a pull that I can feel when I am in the “rung” or “track” of my life’s natural momentum and direction.  I also have the image for when I am “off” that is very similar to our dog experienced growing up when she would attempt to roam “outside” of her area.  Installed on the large property was an underground electric beam that when she would cross she would feel a zap that led her to stick (safely) to the inside area of the yard.  So when we start heading “off beam” I recognize this kind of zap from life.  And the zap actually keeps us in the “safety zone” of our lives.  (So we can be thankful for it instead of resistant to it!)

The “off the beam” tendencies that Dr. Fleet defines in the book The Rays of the Dawn (ROD) are fear, worry, selfishness, vanity, anger, criticism, envy, greed, hypocrisy, prejudice, jealousy and hate.  We know we are getting zapped when we are in these traits.

Along with these on and off the beam traits there are also four “laws of the body” defined in the book that are very simple yet practical ideas to follow in order to create overall good health that has one “on the beam” or “on course” with their life.  These in essence are following daily movement, daily nutrition, daily rest & recuperation for body and mind, and daily inner and outer sanitation.  (It is a quick read of the ROD to understand these principles as he defines them!)

In terms of staying “on the beam” or “on course” in life these laws make logical sense because if you have a strong healthy body then you can more easily stay on the course of your life because you have the necessary attributes to do so.

What is is like to find one’s course and to stay on it, in harmony and ease?  This is a question many are craving the answer to.  I find the answer (or rather, experience) emerges from a process of following the basic principles outlined in the book, keeping a healthy body, and applying the principles defined in the basic class of Concept Therapy called, well, you guessed it, Concept Therapy.

I am in the midst of teaching a 6 week class of Concept Therapy right now heading into week number 3.  Last week I introduced some of the “attributes” we have as human beings.  The one in particular I discussed was the capacity that we have as human beings to recognize ourselves as separate and distinct individuals, namely, to say, “I am,…..sister, daughter, hot, cold, happy, sad etc.”  The “I am” makes us unique and also offers us a powerful and potentially liberating spiritual condition.

This is the capacity to say “I Am separate from the hot, cold, happy, sad, fast, slow, sister, daughter, etc.”  Why would you want to do this?

Take a look at your life.  There you will find endless conditions placed upon real ease and happiness.  When you say “I am my body” but your body is not as perfect as you think it should be you create a kind of tension and unhappiness.  When you say “I am my relationship status” but you are single or divorced or in an unhappy relationship then you chain yourself to that state of dis-ease.  Even when you say “I am my sexy body” or “I am my ideal relationship” you have still limited your experience, because, whether or not you are aware of it, in the back of your mind, is still this nagging feeling that one day you won’t have that sexy body or that ideal relationship and WHAT HAPPENS THEN?!  WHAT WILL PEOPLE THINK?!

This constant identification leads down the road towards less ease less power less satisfaction less happiness than experiencing these positive things yet from the knowledge that you are not those things, thoughts, places, people, roles etc.  You are the “I Am” alone.  And the I am is the divine spark of life.  The limitless nature of creation that could be anything at anytime.

So there is a power in finding the “on course” WITHIN the freedom of the I am.  And finding and following these positive principles within this living meditation on the “I am” can create a powerful on the beam nature.

One way to access the “I Am” is to ponder the liberating idea that you can become the thinker apart from the thoughts, the feeler apart from the feelings, and the actor apart from the actions.  What?!  I had a teenage student in one of my classes and this was like an epiphany for her.  “You mean I am not my emotions?”  Image having this awareness when you were a teenager being tossed about on “the seas of life” by every imaginable, and intense, emotion?  Ups and downs etc.  What if you knew that you were not those emotions but that you could through letting go of identification with them simply allow them to start moving?  She told me that when she realized this she could let herself feel emotions she was afraid to feel, and, by applying the idea of focusing on what she really wanted (instead of creating more attachment to the negative by focusing entirely on it) she could then let those negative or intense ones pass even QUICKER into the positive ones.

And the thinker apart from the thoughts?  What if you knew that you did not have to think hard on situations, mulling them over in order to deduce the best conclusions?  What if you could meditate on this “I Am” aspect of yourself to such a degree that your inner being could become like a beacon on that beam and that it could find the right answer, word or action needed in any given situation?  This is what it is like to live more and more “on the beam” and to find that way of trusting yourself and life enough to say, okay, I am going to allow my real nature, the spirit within, to find this answer for me.  Dr. Fleet called it “the innate computer.”  So you could say, I am going to allow my innate computer to do this work.  The innate computer will have the answer, the action, the healing, etc.  Then the mind can relax and stop creating so much tension!  (Of course training this computer first by reading and applying the principles within The Rays of the Dawn is a highly suggested first step towards programming your computer to “find the beam”).

This process of “I am” wakening meditation begins to lets go of the stickiness to that which you might want to let go of but “can’t”.  “I am not my cold” and “I am not my inability to conceive” and “I am not my uncomfortable past relationship” is liberating and freeing and often where people are brave enough to start this practice (it is when the going gets great that the desire to free oneself becomes more challenging!).  The wonderful thing is, that if there is anything very undesirable in your world experience right now you have a powerful opportunity to set up a spiritual trend in your life that could lead to liberation, and here is the great clincher, EVEN GREATER SATISFACTION when the good stuff starts flowing in,  because you won’t be so afraid of losing it!

Often when people have some kind of problem they start to look for the definition of it and then become even more deeply involved with it, in relationship with it, I-dentified with it.  This I-dentification creates greater stickiness with the problem.  “I am my cancer” even becomes “I am a cancer survivor” or there is “I am an alcoholic” or “I am an addict’ or even “I am sick”.  These attachments lead us away from the truth through identification.

Not only do we continually identify with our stuff but we stick other people to their’s too.  I recall once going through some pain and having difficulty in a yoga class from this pain.  One year later I ran into the same yoga teacher and the first thing she asked me was about the pain.  She identified me by my pain through her perception of what compassion is.  I actually seek out healers, teachers, etc. who will identify me by the same “I Am” I am encouraging you to identify yourself with.  This way they will not “stick me” with that same problem but will start to assist me in my path towards identifying myself as this liberated “I Am”, leading me more and more in my healing to this freeing and vital expression.  You can do this for yourself and the people in your life by liberating them from what you identify them with and as.  You can create a freshness for them to become anew each day.

When the identifications begins to ease up, when you meditate on this idea and put it into practice through a “wakeful” meditation in your daily life, then you find breathing room between that which you really ARE and that which you are experiencing.  If you want to change your experience then you need to get rid of the glue between YOU and your experience.  When you stop focusing on it, stop seeing it as your reality, you start to free up the glue and the stuck-ness and stickiness and you can breathe.

Your nervous system can respond with fresh circulation and proper ease of digestion of your life. Proper elimination of that which your body and life does not need can occur and this aliveness and freshness of body, mind and life can heal you.  It can and will heal your body from the atoms to the cells to the nervous system to the glands of the body.  You can revitalize yourself by meditating on your reality, the reality that you are limitless potential, a spark of divinity, rather than a stuck-ness, experience or situation.

Then you can create the liberation to choose into what you want to create, yet you can do it like an actor choosing their next role.  You can make it fun.  You can put your all into the new role.  But you can do it knowing you are an actor playing a role in the play of life instead of a victim or slave of your life or your experience.  And you can do it each moment.

Another liberating way to create this opening and breathe in your experience is through movement of the body.  You can move your own body and start opening the joints and liberating the muscles and tendons and tissues from binding.  You can also get healing by seeking out a zone healer or great physical healer who can assist you in freeing up old stuck physical neurological patterns in order to support you in creating this new opening and liberation.

Through changing the physical patterns as a Zone Healing Chiropractor I have witnessed people change their relationship to their life and their body in positive ways prior to changing any other life factors.  I have seen people come off of anxiety medications, anti-depressants, shift their self-rated feelings of life purpose from 2 to 9 or 10, change their relationship to their financial situation to a feeling of abundance with no change in income, increase their feeling of being loved without changing relationships and increase their overall feeling of wholeness and health.  Not to mention of course ease in the joints of the body that get painful often due to this forced over and over tense way of trying to make life work rather than flying in the zone and, “on the beam”.

This is because with this kind of physical and mental/emotional/spiritual opening you might stay in the same relationships, do the same jobs, enjoy the same activities, but now you can PLAY!  You can make your body and your life an open expression and get yourself into this “on the beam” feeling and enjoy the momentum of leading this kind of a freer life. You can start now.  Then keep going.  Over and over you can enjoy this game of self-liberation.  When you do this you will magnetize new energy, breath, vitality and possibility into your life!  This in kind will energize the lives of all who participate in your play.  This is a gift you can give to yourself and to all of life.  This is the game I discovered back in New York City over 10 years ago.  It is a continual journey of discovery, creativity, and joy.

Author: Dr. Rhea

Dr. Rhea Zimmerman Komarek Dr. Rhea Zimmerman Komarek is a chiropractor, pro-activist, and producer. Her mission of igniting people to their vitality, gifts, purpose, and passion is the driving force behind her practice, Blossom Chiropractic Studio, humanitarian organization, Blossom Life Projects, mind/body retraining CD, “Breathe Love,” and feature documentary in production, “Love Bomb.” Many believe she is on her way to becoming a significant inspirational leader. Her methods of using chiropractic and innate education have helped countless people overcome challenges and fully step into their lives. Her passion for bringing chiropractic care to those seeking to live their greatest human potential has led her to be as comfortable working with newborn babies, teenagers and seniors as she was in serving as the team chiropractor for the Bontrager Livestrong Pro Cycling Team during the 2011 and 2012 seasons. Her dedication to a life of loving service and a vision of human beings living in harmony beyond differences in nationality, language, and other artificial barriers led her to participate in chiropractic service trips to El Salvador and Brazil and to create and lead similar projects in India and Peru. As her service at home she volunteers for The Pathway Home, a six month rehabilitation and healing program created for combat veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan recovering from PTSD. Dr. Rhea currently resides in Napa, CA, where she welcomes new clients to her practice. On occasion, she can be spotted barefoot running the trails throughout the valley with her big black Goldendoodle Bloom or savoring a glass of red wine at one of the many local restaurants.

Leave a Reply

