Blossom Life With Dr. Rhea

Ignite, Serve, Grow, Thrive. Repeat.

Zone Healing with Dr. Rhea for the Professional Athlete: Spotlight Andrew Talansky

Leave a comment

These interviews are from July 2010.

The journey to becoming and then serving chiropractic, and for me, Zone Healing Chirorpactic has been an incredible experience of inner growth and fulfillment.  The fulfillment comes in the moments when I have seen my skills assist someone in reaching an important goal in their life- whether that goal is living with more ease, getting pregnant and bringing new life into the world, or recovering from illness.  The list and the variety grows every year that I am in practice.
This year I have had the fun experience of assisting someone who has taken the mind/body/soul healing of Zone healing and used it to launch his career to an entirely new level of success.  The client’s name (reaching greater popularity now in the cycling world) is Andrew Talansky.  Andrew started receiving care in the office in January of 2010 and continued while in Napa in between races and touring.  The Journal of Road Cycling and Culture recently featured Andrew and has this to say about that crucial time in his 2010 season:
“Andrew Talansky has had the kind of season that riders lie awake at night imagining.  The 21-year-old Floridian who now calls California home, has been a promising rider in possession of heaps of talent for some time now, but it was only in the first four months of 2010 that everything finally came together.  Talansky’s opening four months of 2010 can only be described as magical.”
Here is what Andrew has to say about the care that he received at Blossom and how it impacted his growth and success as a rider during these magical first four months of the season:

Since I was younger I understood the concepts and premise for alternative medicine such as chiropractic care.  Love your body and it will love you back.  As an athlete I put myself through extreme stress on a nearly daily basis.  Between training, traveling, and racing it is a whirlwind of activity that even the most fit and healthy of individuals struggle to cope with.

When I moved to Napa this winter (January 2010) one of the first things I set out to do was find a team of healers who were as passionate about their job as I am about mine.  From the first visit to Dr. Rhea Zimmerman’s office I knew I had found the right place.  Her approach to healing was different than anything I had ever encountered before.

Most people want you to tell them your “problem” so that they can “fix” it.  Dr. Zimmerman wanted to look at all aspects of the body, even the ones that were already functioning well, and make sure they were all working in harmony together.  Zone by zone, week by week, Dr. Zimmerman worked with me to get my body functioning in its optimal state.  The results were incredible.

Every athlete struggles with immune system deficiencies due to the heavy training load as well as constant nagging injuries that can stem from a number of things.  This winter I had what was by far the best off-season training I had ever done.  My body stayed strong and I felt healthy despite spending countless hours in the cold, wet weather the winter months bring.

During this time, as well as once the racing season began in early February, I continued working with Dr. Zimmerman on a weekly basis.  Whether it was working on my nervous system or muscular zones (or anything else that came up!)  Dr. Zimmerman was there to help me restore my body to its natural, healthy state of being.

As the season progressed so did my results, and the way my body was feeling on and off the bike was remarkable.

Some people described my season so far as “magical.”  I prefer to look at it as logical.  When you surround yourself with people like Dr. Zimmerman and give your body the best care you can, it is no surprise that good things will come.”
Recently Andrew experienced an intense face first fall during the July 2010 Cascade Classic in Bend, Oregon.  He received care at the office in order to recover from the fall.  Here is what he has to say about receiving care in order to integrate, heal and recover from the fall as an even better rider than before:
Whether it is in everyday life or racing bicycles there are always obstacles that we will face.  Recently, I suffered the worst crash of my career during a race in Bend, Oregon.  The accident left me with severe bruising on several parts of my body and several gashes requiring stitches on my face.

After an accident like this it is not just the physical aspect that requires care, dealing with the mental implications is just as crucial.  When I returned to Napa a few days later (still looking bruised and battered) I went in to see Dr. Zimmerman.  Without a second thought she got to work speeding the healing process along.

Immediately we worked on helping my body process the trauma it had suffered, dealing with the physical strains and scrapes that I had.  When I woke up the next morning it was a big surprise to look in the mirror and realize that the swelling was nearly gone and my face had begun to heal.  It’s not hard to see that my visits with Dr. Zimmerman were having instant effects.

Once my body had begun healing we set to work on my mind.  The mind is a powerful thing and, for me at least, thoughts can have large implications on how we feel physically.  We worked on releasing all negative thoughts relating to the accident, correlating riding to the positive feelings my body experiences during my adjustments with Dr. Zimmerman.

Now, just two weeks after my accident, I am feeling better than ever.  My training has hardly skipped a beat, my body feels great, and all my scrapes and bruises are gone.  As a cyclist I have had enough accidents to know my body and never before have I experienced such a rapid healing process.  It left me and those around me in awe and I couldn’t have one it without the help of Dr. Rhea Zimmerman.

Andrew Talansky July 23, 2010 One Day after Cascade Classic Crash

Andrew Talansky July 30, 2010
8 Days after Crash, 5 Days after beginning Zone Healing (4 sessions)

Author: Dr. Rhea

Dr. Rhea Zimmerman Komarek Dr. Rhea Zimmerman Komarek is a chiropractor, pro-activist, and producer. Her mission of igniting people to their vitality, gifts, purpose, and passion is the driving force behind her practice, Blossom Chiropractic Studio, humanitarian organization, Blossom Life Projects, mind/body retraining CD, “Breathe Love,” and feature documentary in production, “Love Bomb.” Many believe she is on her way to becoming a significant inspirational leader. Her methods of using chiropractic and innate education have helped countless people overcome challenges and fully step into their lives. Her passion for bringing chiropractic care to those seeking to live their greatest human potential has led her to be as comfortable working with newborn babies, teenagers and seniors as she was in serving as the team chiropractor for the Bontrager Livestrong Pro Cycling Team during the 2011 and 2012 seasons. Her dedication to a life of loving service and a vision of human beings living in harmony beyond differences in nationality, language, and other artificial barriers led her to participate in chiropractic service trips to El Salvador and Brazil and to create and lead similar projects in India and Peru. As her service at home she volunteers for The Pathway Home, a six month rehabilitation and healing program created for combat veterans of Iraq and Afghanistan recovering from PTSD. Dr. Rhea currently resides in Napa, CA, where she welcomes new clients to her practice. On occasion, she can be spotted barefoot running the trails throughout the valley with her big black Goldendoodle Bloom or savoring a glass of red wine at one of the many local restaurants.

Leave a Reply

